A Week of Adventures

This has been an interesting week; at times exciting but other times very discouraging.

First of all, earlier this week we tried out a gaming experience in the Toronto area called ESC-IT. It was thrilling! This was most fun we had all week, and definitely was a good start to a week that grew steadily less pleasant.

But more good news first: I mentioned several weeks ago that I was recovering from a back injury, which unfortunately got a lot worse a couple weeks ago. I seem to be on the mend (again) and feel almost completely myself once more! A good thing considering pain and exhaustion is not a good combination for one’s sanity.

However, we also received bad news regarding the husband’s funding at the university. He is so intelligent, determined and faithful he deserves recognition. Unfortunately, there are many people like him who also deserve recognition. Those who are studying towards their PhD are a special group of people and so the competition is fierce. David, as always, took the news in stride. He is so much better at handling bad news than me! Of course there’s disappointment, but he lives his life by repeating (sometimes several times to me) –

Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.

This might have comforted me more had it not been for our car troubles (the second time in 8 weeks). We have a 2004 Honda Civic. It’s been good to us for the most part. It gets us from place to place and, despite the repairs over the last several weeks, is extremely good on gas. But, what we were expecting to be a repair that would cost a few hundred dollars, it cost three times that!

So, next up on our thrilling ride of unexpected news this week: finding and negotiating a good deal!

After calling around, we settled on Canadian Tire. They could do the job for several hundred dollars less. I managed to get them to drop the price a little more until they got it to the point of “Sorry, we can’t do any better than that.”

The automotive guy laughed at first and looked at me rather incredulously when I asked “Well, I’m due for an oil change. It would make me very happy if you could at least throw in a free oil change. I am a good customer.” He looked at me for a minute and chuckled.

“I can do that. Especially if it makes you happy.” And a free oil change it was. Sometimes the little things make a difference.

But the adventure did not end here.

We left our car for the day and walked home. I was not, however, wearing the proper shoes for a long walk and my feet blistered and started bleeding.

Brilliant, I thought angrily to myself.

The inside of my shoes had blood stains on the heel. I started walking barefoot on the sidewalk until David offered to give me a piggy-back. He got tired after a while, so I slipped back down to the ground to walk the rest of the way, my shoes clutched firmly in my hands.

But just as I started walking, I noticed David had stopped. I looked behind me and there he was taking off his shoes and socks.

“What are you doing?”

“We can walk barefoot together!” He said with a big smile.

And it’s moments like these that put things in perspective. There we were, walking hand-in-hand down the road, barefoot. We got a few stares (as you would), but we didn’t care.

Throughout our marriage we’ve had a great share of discouragement and sadness. But we’ve also been blissfully happy and have experienced wonderful news and great successes.

And so, when the bad things happen, it’s that much more bearable knowing that firstly, “can any one of you by worrying add a single hour to your life” but also that a joyful and loving heart is the best medicine for life’s troubles!

Now I just need to get those blood stains out of my shoes…

One thought on “A Week of Adventures

Leave a Reply

