Primis Infans – My First Crochet Pattern!

I love crafting. Usually I knit things, but crocheted blankets are so appealing. I don’t like to crochet wearable items (like shirts) but the stitches lend themselves so well to blankets and afghans. So, I decided to try my hand at designing a crocheted baby blanket!

I’ve been working on a crochet baby blanket for a friend for a few weeks now. I finished it about a week ago and have been writing up the pattern since then. Today I finally published it on Ravelry!

IMG_4498edit

I used Berroco Weekend yarn, which is 75% acrylic and 25% Peruvian cotton worsted weight yarn. It’s soft, squishy and great for baby blankets! And it comes in at 205 yards/skein, making it a sturdy and economical yarn. It’s also machine-washable and dryable, making it perfect for easy-care items.

I used a size 4.25mm hook and choose two sets of two complimentary colours – light and dark blue; light and dark purple – and a neutral colour.

IMG_4499edit

IMG_4500Edi

I used a basic stitch pattern for blankets, but complicated matters by the frequent colour changes and a v-stitch border. I used the technique I found on YouTube by Crochet Guru to weave in the tails as I went along, and to change from one colour to the next.

IMG_4495Edit

I’m pleased with how it turned out, though I must admit it’s less gender neutral than I intended it to be with my colour choices… but all the same, I can’t wait to gift it!

For Pattern PDF Only:

2 thoughts on “Primis Infans – My First Crochet Pattern!

Leave a Reply

