Knitting in Purple

I’ve been knitting a vest for my husband. It’s grey, and almost entirely stockinette. Though, I did add a cable to the front. It’s a v-neck vest and I hope to finish it, you know, by the time he gets his PhD. Anyway, I needed a break from it, so decided to start a small knitting project.

Last year I knit a vest (based on Tanis Lavallee’s “Honeytree Vest” but with my own twist) and had some yarn leftover. I used Cascade Yarns 220 Colourway 2420 (Heather).

IMG_3532_medium2 IMG_3534_medium2

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I knew I wanted to knit some sort of hood because my winter coat doesn’t have one. I was browsing the knitting section at the library and found a copy of Knitting Everyday Finery by Mel Clark. There’s lots of great patterns in this book, including a hood!

Collage

It was perfect. Colourful and simple, and I could use my leftover yarn!

One snag, though – I needed a nice harmonious colour to go with it. And no, there was nothing in my stash that would work (as every knitter will say). Then I heard about a Cascade Yarns sale at Mary’s Yarns around the New Year, and I knew I had to head over and pick me up a skein, or a few…

For this project I chose Cascade 220 Colourway 9453 (Orchid Heather) to accompany the yarn leftover from my vest. So, with my yarn in hand, I began my Family Hood!

Collage 2

Collage 3

collage 4

I love it! It fits really well, I love the colours and I love the yarn! Cascade Yarns is quickly becoming my favourite yarn company. Great stitch definition, even for plain stockinette. Also, Mel Clark’s pattern is simple and clear (no errors, yay!) and easy to modify. One could easily make this in one colour and add lace or cables, or you could use more than two colours. The possibilities are endless. It’s a great pattern for those who want to try their hand at designing, because you take the basic pattern and add your own flare! There were several other patterns in the book that I liked, but this one is my favourite.

I want to make a matching blue one for the husband, but I need to finish his vest first! I guess I should get back to that…

One thought on “Knitting in Purple

Leave a Reply

